Joint Science Conference

About us

In June 2007 the Federal Government and the Heads of Government of the Länder agreed on the Establishment of a Joint Science Conference (Gemeinsame Wissenschaftskonferenz – GWK). Based on Article 91b Basic Law the Joint Science Conference was established by a formal Agreement in September 2007 and started operation on 1. January 2008.

Ministers and Senators of the Federal Government and the Länder responsible for science and research as well as for finance are Members of the Joint Science Conference.

The Conference deals with all questions of research funding, science and research policy strategies and the science system which jointly affect the Federal Government and the Länder. Whilst preserving their own competences, the members of the GWK strive for close coordination on questions of common interest in the field of national, european and international science and research policy with the aim of strengthening Germany’s position as a location for science and research in the international competition.

The members of the Joint Science Conference act jointly in cases of supraregional importance in promoting

  • institutions and projects in the field of non-university scientific research
  • scientific and research projects at institutions of higher education
  • the construction of research buildings at institutions of higher education, including large facilities, in accordance with the detailed definition of this Agreement.


Agreement on the Establishment of a Joint Science Conference (GWK Agreement) of 11 September 2007 PDF-File

GWK-Book 24: Equal Opportunities in Science and Research, 15. Update to the Data (2009/2010) on Women in Higher Education Institutions and Non-academic Research Establishments, Bonn 2011 PDF-File